PTownCert
Town rules / Chicago Heights

Chicago Heights contractor license & registration requirements

What a contractor needs to register with Chicago Heights, Illinois — fee, bond, insurance, credentials, term and how to submit — compiled from the village's own published sources.

Cook County, IllinoisPartially verified — confirm by phoneExpires: Apr 30Last verified Sep 25, 2026

Renewal checklist

  1. 1
    Completed application form
    Use the link in the sidebar.
  2. 2
    Registration fee — not published (web page says 'you will receive an email from BS&A to pay your registration fee' but does not state the amount; the application PDF could not be retrieved)confirm by phone
  3. 3
    License & permit bond — not published on official page; third-party surety sites (bondability.com, nnasuretybonds.com) list a $10,000 'City of Chicago Heights Contractor Bond' -- FLAGGED: third-party onlyconfirm by phone
    Obligee not published — ask who the bond should name.
  4. 4
    Certificate of insuranceconfirm by phone
    not published
  5. 5
    Workers' compensationconfirm by phone
    not published
  6. 6
    Trade credentials
    'provide all required documents applicable to your trade' (trade-specific documents are listed on the application PDF, which returned HTTP 404 at both the old /4431 and current /4870 DocumentCenter URLs). Contractors must create a BS&A Online account (https://bsaonline.com/Registration?uid=3185) to pay fees and apply for permits.
  7. 7
    Submit: Email
    Email: 'When your application is complete, click the Email button in the upper-right corner of this webpage to submit your application and supporting documentation.' Fee paid after approval: 'Fees can be paid online through the City's BS&A portal or in person.'
    Portal: BS&A Online (fee payment)

Term & renewal

License term (as published)
May 1 - April 30: 'Contractor licenses are valid from May 1 through April 30 of the following licensing year.'
Expiry model
Fixed year — everyone expires Apr 30. Next: Apr 30, 2027
Renewal window / late fees
'The annual renewal period begins on March 15.' Late fees: not published.

Fees, bond & insurance (as published)

General contractor fee
not published (web page says 'you will receive an email from BS&A to pay your registration fee' but does not state the amount; the application PDF could not be retrieved)
Subcontractor / trade fee
not published
Other fees & penalties
not published
Bond
not published on official page; third-party surety sites (bondability.com, nnasuretybonds.com) list a $10,000 'City of Chicago Heights Contractor Bond' -- FLAGGED: third-party only
Bond payee / obligee
not published on official page; third-party surety sites state 'City of Chicago Heights, Illinois' -- FLAGGED: third-party only
Liability insurance minimum
not published
Workers' compensation
not published
Other requirements
'provide all required documents applicable to your trade' (trade-specific documents are listed on the application PDF, which returned HTTP 404 at both the old /4431 and current /4870 DocumentCenter URLs). Contractors must create a BS&A Online account (https://bsaonline.com/Registration?uid=3185) to pay fees and apply for permits.
Trades covered
All contractors pulling permits: 'All contractors performing work within the City of Chicago Heights must obtain a valid City contractor license before commencing any work.' City publishes separate lists of licensed General, Electrical, HVAC and Roofing contractors.

Notes

Official page confirms licensing requirement, May 1-Apr 30 term, Mar 15 renewal opening, email submission and BS&A payment portal, but fees/bond/insurance are only on the application PDF which was not retrievable (404). Bond figure ($10,000) comes only from surety-agent sites and must be verified. City posts active-contractor lists (General ~650 names, Electrical, HVAC, Roofing) in DocumentCenter. Do not confuse with the separate Village of South Chicago Heights (southchicagoheights.com), which has its own $10,000 bond / $1,000,000 liability / May 1 renewal program.

Track Chicago Heights automatically

TownCert computes your Chicago Heights renewal from the town's rule, keeps your bond and COI on file, and reminds you 60/30/14 days out — for every town you work in.

Start 14-day free trial

At a glance

GC fee
not published
Sub fee
not published
Bond
not published
Expires
Apr 30
Submit via
Email

Contact

Department
Code Enforcement Department (Building/Permits)
Phone
708-756-5328 (Code Enforcement); 708-756-5300 (City Hall main)
Address
1601 Chicago Road, Chicago Heights, IL 60411
Open application / info page ↗

Sources

Other Cook County jurisdictions